Saints Mark Ingram nominated for NFL Man of the Year

Running back recognized for his community service

Steve Geller
December 06, 2018 - 9:25 am

The NFL announced 32 nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award and Mark Ingram has been selected from the Saints.  The award recognizes a player for outstanding community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field. It was 1st established in 1970 and was renamed in 1999 after Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back Walter Payton.

"The Man of the Year Award gives us the opportunity to acknowledge 32 exemplary players whose commitment to excellence extends on and off the field," said Commissioner Roger Goodell. "This year's nominees have used their platforms to transform communities across the country. We are proud of their work and celebrate their dedication and impact through this award."

Since his rookie season, Ingram has been actively engaged in the community as a member of the Saints and proud resident of the city. This year he sponsored a backpack giveaway for over 200 kids with teammate Terron Armstead.  Ingram will also be participating in an upcoming event at the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts, as well as the Saints Annual Turkey Giveaway, other team-sponsored school visits, and will host his annual Christmas Shopping Spree again. In June, he was honored by Volunteers of America for mentoring children, particularly those with an incarcerated parent. Ingram was selected to participate in the NFL's USO Tour in the 2018 off-season visiting Italy and Germany. He has also participated in the Saints' inaugural trip in support of PLAY 60 Canada in 2017.

The 2018 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year will be announced during NFL Honors on February 2 on CBS. 

Here is a list of all of this year’s nominees:

Arizona Cardinals Antoine Bethea

Atlanta Falcons Grady Jarrett

Baltimore Ravens Brandon Carr

Buffalo Bills Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers Julius Peppers

Chicago Bears Trey Burton

Cincinnati Bengals Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns Christian Kirksey

Dallas Cowboys Dak Prescott

Denver Broncos Von Miller

Detroit Lions Matthew Stafford

Green Bay Packers Kenny Clark

Houston Texans Whitney Mercilus

Indianapolis Colts Jabaal Sheard

Jacksonville Jaguars Blake Bortles

Kansas City Chiefs Dustin Colquitt

Los Angeles Chargers Corey Liuget

Los Angeles Rams Andrew Whitworth

Miami Dolphins Kenny Stills

Minnesota Vikings Kyle Rudolph

New England Patriots Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints Mark Ingram

New York Giants Michael Thomas

New York Jets Kelvin Beachum

Oakland Raiders Marshawn Lynch

Philadelphia Eagles Chris Long

Pittsburgh Steelers Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers Robbie Gould

Seattle Seahawks K.J. Wright

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans Jurrell Casey

Washington Redskins Vernon Davis

The winner of the award receives $250,000 donated to United Way in his name to expand Character Playbook across the country and up to $250,000 donated to the winner's charity of choice. Fans are encouraged to post #WPMOYChallenge and their favorite nominee's last name on social media between December 6th to January 13th. The nominee who receives the most hashtag mentions will win an additional $25,000 donation to his charity of choice, the runner-up will receive $10,000 and the third-place winner will receive $5,000.



Comments ()