Drew Brees a finalist for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Saints QB among 8 nominees

Steve Geller
December 07, 2018 - 10:19 am

Saints quarterback Drew Brees is having an MVP caliber season, and has been nominated for another honor. The NFL has announced that Brees is one of eight finalists for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. It is given to the player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. This year's other nominees are Jaguars DE Calais Campbell, Redskins TE Vernon Davis, Chargers TE Antonio Gates, Colts QB Andrew Luck, 49ers T Joe Staley, Ravens S Eric Weddle and Packers CB Tramon Williams.

The award was created in 2014 and the past winners are:

2014 Larry Fitzgerlad - Arizona WR 

2015 Charles Woodson - Oakland CB 

2016 Frank Gore - Indianapolis RB 

2017 Luke Kuechly - Carolina LB 

The winner will be determined by a vote of current players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice, but a team cannot vote for its own player. A winner will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 2 on CBS, the night before Super Bowl LIII. The player will receive a trophy and a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.


Comments ()