Media picks LSU to finish third in SEC West and fourth overall

July 14, 2017 - 12:31 pm

Michelle Southern reporting. 

The SEC Media projections are out and the 2017 LSU football team is picked to finish behind Alabama and Auburn in the SEC West. Tiger Rag Editor Cody Worsham says these projections aren't surprising, especially when it comes to Alabama who continues to be the well-deserved favorite in the West.

He says reporters are also big on Auburn right now.

"They bring in a transfer quarterback in Jarrett Stidham who they think can really fit Gus Malzahn's offense and take them to the next level," said Worsham.

LSU is picked number four to outright win the SEC Championship, behind Alabama, Auburn and Georgia.

Worsham says there is a lot of hype about the Bulldogs right now too as they have 10 starters back on defense, and talented sophomore quarterback Jacob Eason.

He says the good news for LSU fans is that SEC projections tend to be wrong.

"The SEC Media has been high on Tennessee the last couple of years in the East, and they haven't really delivered," said Worsham. "They've even been high on LSU in recent years and LSU hasn't lived up to the standards."

Worsham says this LSU football team is one of the most difficult to predict that he's seen in a long time. He says there are a ton of questions headed into the season.

"You're replacing a lot of standouts defensively, there are some questions on offense, particularly at wide receiver," said Worsham. "And you've got a new coach and a new offensive coordinator...AND you've got to add in the fact that LSU has to play five road games in the SEC which is very rare."

Reporters at SEC Media Days named seven Tigers to All-SEC teams, including first-teamers Derrius Guice and Arden Key, the league announced Friday.

Alabama and Georgia were predicted meet in Atlanta with the SEC Championship Game with Alabama the media’s pick to win its fourth straight SEC title. LSU received the fourth-most votes to win the league, behind Alabama, Auburn and Georgia.

Guice and Key are joined on the All-SEC teams by second-teamers K.J. Malone, Christian LaCouture and Donte Jackson and third-teamers Will Clapp and Rashard Lawrence.

The voting:

Western Division (1st place votes in parenthesis):

1. Alabama (225) 1683

2. Auburn (13) 1329

3. LSU (4) 1262

4. Arkansas (1) 796

5. Texas A&M 722

6. Mississippi State 633

7. Ole Miss 379

Eastern Division

1. Georgia (138) 1572

2. Florida (96) 1526

3. Tennessee 998

4. South Carolina 897

5. Kentucky 869

6. Vanderbilt 554

7. Missouri 388

SEC champion

Alabama 217

Auburn 11

Georgia 6

LSU, Florida 3

South Carolina, Arkansas, Vanderbilt 1


(Total points earned in parenthesis) 



QB        Jalen Hurts, Alabama (196)

RB        Derrius Guice, LSU (223)

RB        Nick Chubb, Georgia (211)

WR       Calvin Ridley, Alabama (232)

WR       Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (197)

TE         Isaac Nauta, Georgia (134)

OL        Braden Smith, Auburn (201)

OL        Martez Ivey, Florida (198)

OL        Jonah Williams, Alabama (187)

OL        Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama (174)

C          Frank Ragnow, Arkansas (174)


QB       Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State (121)

RB        Bo Scarbrough, Alabama (151)

RB        Kamryn Pettway, Auburn (141)

WR       Antonio Callaway, Florida (152)

WR       J’Mon Moore, Missouri (91)

TE         Hayden Hurst, South Carolina (115)

OL        Isaiah Wynn, Georgia (116)

OL        Jashon Robertson, Tennessee (108)

OL        K.J. Malone, LSU (101)

OL        Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State (101)

C          Bradley Bozeman, Alabama (155)


QB        Austin Allen, Arkansas (102)

RB        Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt (105)

RB        Sony Michel, Georgia (30)

WR       Deebo Samuel, South Carolina (64)

WR       Jauan Jennings, Tennessee (42)

TE         DeAndre Goolsby, Florida (76)

OL        Lester Cotton, Alabama (96)

OL        Greg Little, Ole Miss (94)

OL        Javon Patterson, Ole Miss (87)

OL        Koda Martin, Texas A&M (69)

C           Will Clapp, LSU (66)



DL        Da’Ron Payne, Alabama (196)

DL        Da’Shawn Hand, Alabama (180)

DL         Trenton Thompson, Georgia (172)

DL        Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (159)

LB         Arden Key, LSU (191)

LB         Rashaan Evans, Alabama (180)

LB         Roquan Smith, Georgia (157)

DB        Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (232)

DB        Ronnie Harrison, Alabama (156)

DB        Armani Watts, Texas A&M (137)

DB        Duke Dawson, Florida (137)


DL        Cece Jefferson, Florida (151)

DL         Marlon Davidson, Auburn (120)

DL         Christian LaCouture, LSU (107)

DL         Denzil Ware, Kentucky (78)

LB         Shaun Dion Hamilton, Alabama (156)

LB        Skai Moore, South Carolina (128)

LB         Tre’ Williams, Auburn (103)

DB        Tray Matthews, Auburn (126)

DB        Donte Jackson, LSU (123)

DB        Carlton Davis, Auburn (109)

DB       Dominick Sanders, Georgia (109)


DL        Marcell Frazier, Missouri (77)

DL         Jabari Zuniga, Florida (76)

DL        Dontavius Russell, Auburn (70)

DL         Rashard Lawrence, LSU (54)

LB         Jordan Jones, Kentucky (91)

LB         Lorenzo Carter, Georgia (82)

LB         Oren Burks, Vanderbilt (58)

DB        Anthony Averett, Alabama (104)

DB        Marcell Harris, Florida (83)

DB        Mike Edwards, Kentucky (71)

DB        Tony Brown, Alabama (62)



P           JK Scott, Alabama (222)

PK        Daniel Carlson, Auburn (218)

RS        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (176)

AP        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (161)


P           Johnny Townsend, Florida (99)

PK        Eddy Piniero, Florida (106)

RS        Evan Berry, Tennssee (117)

AP        Derrius Guice, LSU (133)


P           Trevor Daniel, Tennessee (58)

PK        Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss (94)

RS         Antonio Callaway, Florida (84)

AP        Kerryon Johnson, Auburn (66)

Photo Credit: USA TODAY Sports

Comments ()