LSU's Burrow wins AP Player of the Year

First Fighting Tiger to win it

Chris Miller
December 12, 2019 - 11:44 am
Lifesize Heisman Trophy stalks LSU looking for Joe Burrow

USA Today Sports

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow is the Associated Press college football player of the year. The signal-caller ran away with the voting, earning 50 of 53 first-place nods. The runner-up, Ohio State defensive end Chase Young received three first-place votes.

Burrow has led the top-ranked Fighting Tigers to a perfect 13-0 record headed into the semi-final round of the College Football Playoffs. He amassed 4,715 passing yards and an SEC-record 48 touchdowns, and completed 77.9 percent of his throws.

The Associated Press began designating a player of the year in 1998. This is the first time an LSU player has won the award.

AP Player of the Year is also a decent indicator of who will win the Heisman trophy. In its 21 years, 16 of the winners of the AP award also won the Heisman. The Heisman will be awarded Saturday night in New York.

LSU takes on No. 4 Oklahoma Saturday, Dec. 28 in the Peach Bowl in Atlanta. The winner advances to the CFP Championship Game in New Orleans, to be played at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on January 13.

Comments ()