LSU quarterback Joe Burrow wins Heisman Trophy

Amos Morale III
December 14, 2019 - 7:13 pm
Joe Burrow



Joe Burrow became LSU's second Heisman Trophy winner ever Saturday night, when he was announced as the award's winner at a ceremony in New York.

The senior from Athens, Ohio joins Billy Cannon as the only other Tiger to receive college football’s highest honor, as Cannon claimed the trophy in 1959.

The former Ohio State quarterback is also just LSU’s second “Heisman finalist” to make the trip to New York, as defensive back Tyrann Mathieu was recognized in 2011.

Burrow won the award over other finalists Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, whom he and the Tigers are set to face Dec. 28 in the College Football Playoff semifinal, as well as Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and defensive end Chase Young.

Burrow, the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, re-wrote LSU's record books, establishing school marks for passing yards (4,715), passing TDs (48), passing yards per game (362.7), completions (342), total offense (5,004) and total offense per game (384.9).

He also broke the SEC record for passing yards and passing touchdowns in a single season and is on pace to set the NCAA single-season record for completion percentage. Burrow connected on 77.9 percent of his attempts, while leading the Tigers to a 13-0 record and the top-seed in the College Football Playoff.

Joe Burrow’s play this season had already earned him the Unitas Award as well as the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell awards. Those are trophies every player dreams of, but the honor he treasures most may not be in record books or fit on a shelf. Joe Burrow won the respect of his team and coaches with astounding play, leadership and toughness...and won the hearts of LSU fans with his love of Louisiana reflected in the custom-made jersey he wore senior night at the Texas A&M game, where he deemed himself “Joe Burreaux.”

Comments ()