Getty Images

Ed Orgeron Named Coach of the Year Semifinalist

November 21, 2018 - 6:04 pm

BATON ROUGE – LSU coach Ed Orgeron has been selected as one of 18 semifinalist for the 2018 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Wednesday.

In his second full season as head coach of the Tigers, Orgeron has guided LSU to a 9-2 overall mark and a No. 7 ranking in the College Football Playoff standings. The Tigers have three wins over teams ranked in the top 10 this year, including a 36-16 victory over then-No. 2 Georgia in late September.

Overall, Orgeron has a 24-8 mark with the Tigers, which ranks as the third-highest win total after 32 games for any LSU head coach in school history.

The Tigers are one victory shy of the school’s first 10-win season since 2013 and the Tigers are in position to receive a bid to the school’s first New Year’s 6 Bowl game since the College Football Playoff format was put into play in 2014.

LSU closes out the regular season on Saturday when the Tigers face 22nd-ranked Texas A&M in College Station. The Aggies will be the seventh Top 25 team LSU will face this year. LSU is currently 4-2 against ranked opponents this year with wins coming over Miami, Auburn, Georgia, and Mississippi State.

Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Monday Nov. 26th and close on Monday, Dec. 10th. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec. 11th and run until Dec. 27th. The winner will be announced Dec. 28th.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala on Friday, March 8, 2019 at the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

2018 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalist
Ed Orgeron (LSU)
Dino Barbers (Syracuse)
Bill Clark (UAB)
Butch Davis (Florida International)
Luke Fickell (Cincinnati)
Jim Harbough (Michigan)
Josh Heupel (Central Florida)
Brian Kelly (Notre Dame)
Mike Leach (Washington State)
Lance Leipold (Buffalo)
Jeff Monken (Army)
Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma)
Nick Saban (Alabama)
Kirby Smart (Georgia)
Mark Stoops (Kentucky)
Dabo Swinney (Clemson)
Matt Wells (Utah State)
Kyle Whittingham (Utah)

Comments ()