Coach O wins Home Depot Coach of the Year

Chris Miller
December 11, 2019 - 1:46 pm

Matt Kartozian - USA TODAY Sports

LSU head football coach Ed Orgeron is the Home Depot College Coach of the Year winner.

According to The Times-Picayune | The New Orleans Advocate, the last time an LSU coach won the award was in 2011, when the honor went to Les Miles.

The 13-0 Fighting Tigers will play in their first-ever College Football Playoff game the Saturday after Christmas, December 28, in the Peach Bowl against the Oklahoma Sooners. The last time LSU and Oklahoma met, it was January 4, 2004 in the Sugar Bowl for the BCS championship. LSU won 21-14.

A win in Atlanta will advance the LSU to the championship game, being played this year in New Orleans at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Orgeron is a finalist for several other college coach of the year awards.

Comments ()