Agricultural, weather disaster areas declared for parishes across state

Declarations clear way for FSA funds

Associated Press
September 19, 2019 - 7:29 am

Getty Images - leolintang


(AP) -- The federal government has declared agricultural disasters in two Louisiana parishes because of floods during the past year. A news release emailed Wednesday says farmers in another 11 adjacent parishes can also apply for low-interest emergency loans.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue says flooding between Sept. 1, 2018 and July 17 made Catahoula Parish a primary disaster area. Farmers and ranchers in Avoyelles, Caldwell, Concordia, Franklin, LaSalle, and Tensas can also apply for Farm Service Agency loans to recover from those floods.

Vermilion Parish received the designation for rain and floods from June 5-15. Adjacent parishes under that declaration are Acadia, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, and Lafayette.

FSA emergency loans can be used to replace essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganize a farming operation or refinancing some debts.

Comments ()